IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Quality of Service
14-16 June 2017 – Vilanova i la Geltrú, Spain


First CIPSEC Workshop

Security vs Quality: A Dilemma for Critical Infrastructures Management

June 14, 2017

There is no doubt that security provisioning is a global and a key challenge in our technology dependent society. The pervasive evolution of technological services, the ubiquitous network and systems access from a wide range of different and novel devices, and the corresponding ease of their use, makes this endavour become close to an utopia, assuming that these services need also to be secure. Unfortunately, the current solutions intended to provide such security guarantees require high communication costs, computational overhead and latency, which unquestionably impacts on the perceived quality of service (QoS). This is particularly critical in services or scenarios with strong demands for either security or QoS, since endorsing one of them may weaken the other one. Thus, the trade-off between security and QoS is an open challenge necessitating focused attention from the scientific community. The CIPSEC Workshop focuses on garnering research and practitioner contributions to discuss how the security vs. quality dilemma impacts Critical Infrastructure Systems scenarios (power systems, hospitals, transportation systems, etc.).
As the initial workshop of a series of three, technically supported by the EU CIPSEC project, this initial CIPSEC workshop invites authors to present ideas and solutions, even at an early stage, in the field on critical infrastructure systems particularly addressing security and QoS aspects. Submissions must not be previously submitted anywhere and must meet the submission guidelines for regular papers in the IWQoS conference. A selection of the accepted papers will be presented in an invited session within the IWQoS conference program and published in the conference proceedings.

Workshop Chairs:

  • Xavi Masip, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
  • Neeraj Suri, Technical University of Darmstadt

TPC Chairs:

  • Antonio Álvarez, ATOS
  • Rodrigo Díaz, ATOS
  • Apostolos Fournaris, University of Patras
  • Stefan Katzenbeisser, Technical University of Darmstadt
  • Kostas Lampropoulos, University of Patras
  • Eva Marín, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

Important dates:

  • Paper submission: Feb 28, 2017 April 15, 2017 (extended)
  • Author notification: May 8, 2017
  • Final version: May 15, 2017


EDAS submission: click here